Claflin News

Claflin University’s Young Scientific Scholars Perform Well at State Conference

Dec 02, 2011


Claflin University had three winners in research competitions at the annual Louis Strokes South Carolina Alliance for Minority Participation Conference on Nov. 4. From left to right are:  Aja Moss, second place Poster Presentation; Krystal Bowser second place Oral Presentation; and Christiann Hill, first place Poster Presentation.

Claflin University showed why it is fast becoming a top undergraduate research institution on Nov. 4 at the annual Louis Stokes South Carolina Alliance for Minority Participation (SCAMP) Undergraduate Science and Engineering Research Conference on Nov. 4. University students finished first and second in the research poster competition, while another scholar finished second in the oral presentation.

Christiann Hill won first place for the poster presentation “Directed evolution of Beta-Galactosidase from Geobacillus stearothermophilus". Meanwhile, senior Aja Moss finished second with her poster presentation titled "Methods Development of Metobolite Extractions from Cervical Mucus for Application in an NMR-Based Metabolomics Study of Human Papilloma Virus".

Tyler Means, a junior biology major, received honorable mention for poster titled "Proepicardial Cell Contribution to Avian Coronary Vessel Development".

Finishing second in the oral presentation competition, sophomore Krystal Bower also discussed the directed evolution topic. Hill and Bower are mentored by Assistant Professor of Biology Dr. Nicholas Panasik. Moss is mentored by Assistant Professor of Chemistry Dr. Arezue Boroujerdi.

SCAMP represents diversity and undergraduate excellence in the areas of science, mathematics, engineering and technology. The program through its twelve member institutions is designed to increase the quality and quantity of undergraduate minority students completing baccalaureate degrees in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Participating colleges and universities at the November conference included: Allen University, Benedict College, Claflin University, Clemson University, College of Charleston, Denmark Technical College, Morris College, Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College, South Carolina State University, University of South Carolina, Voorhees College.


Claflin Photos