Claflin News

Three with leadership experience seek to be Claflin SGA president

Apr 04, 2014

The Panther

Each of the three candidates campaigning for Claflin University Student Government Association president is trying to separate himself as the best choice, though the three have similarities.

The candidates in the April 8 voting are Durontez Washington, Tyler Breland and Dillon Isaac. Each is a junior. But that's not the only thing they have in common.

All are members of the Honors College and have a great deal of experience serving as leaders. Dillon and Tyler are former class presidents. Durontez has been an active member of the Student Activities Board since his freshman year.

In other races, two candidates are seeking the vice presidency: juniors Keydareon Graham and Sierra Youngblood.

The number of candidates for Miss Homecoming is greater than the number of Miss Claflin candidates.

The Miss Homecoming category consists of four young ladies.

Only two ladies of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc., Moriah Harris and reigning Homecoming Queen Lia Holman, are competing for the crown and title of Miss Claflin.

Keith Bell, sophomore; Michael Bowman, junior; Ryan Black, junior; and Thomas Harris, junior, are running head to head for the title of Mr. Claflin.

The Claflin Student Body will vote for their preferred candidates on Tuesday, April 8. Polls will be open for an allotted amount of time on the university's website.

Candidates with the most votes win.

However, females running for the title of Miss Claflin must also compete in a pageant. Scores from their pageant will also tie in with the amount of votes they receive from the student body. Winners will be announced during the week of voting.

Claflin Photos