Claflin University Among Honorees at the 2017 NBCA Legacy of Leaders Alumni Awards

Aug 11, 2017
The National Black College Alumni Hall of Fame Foundation, Inc. will host its Annual Legacy of Leaders Alumni Luncheon, Friday, September 29, 2017 in Atlanta, Georgia at the Hyatt Regency Atlanta. Each year, Alumni of Historically Black Colleges & Universities (HBCUs) are honored for significant contributions they have made to their respective institution. This event promotes the viability of HBCUs and highlights the accomplishments of their alumni.

Among this year’s stellar class of honorees is Claflin University being honored in the category of National Alumni Association of the Year. Claflin University continues to earn national recognition for excellence in higher education. In a most recent poll, Claflin ranks eighth among the 25 Best Colleges in South Carolina. Claflin University is the only historically black college or university (HBCU) listed in the ranking. Claflin is number one in alumni giving among all HBCUs, thanks to their alumni giving back. Claflin was selected 2015 HBCU of the Year by HBCU Digest and Forbes recently named Claflin the top HBCU in alumni annual giving percentage. The University’s 47 percent alumni annual giving percentage ranks among national leaders at all colleges and universities. Founded in 1869, Claflin is the oldest HBCU in the state of South Carolina. Claflin and National Alumni Association became the first HBCU to reach 50 percent in alumni giving. Claflin exceeded that goal with 52.2 percent alumni giving.

Joining Claflin University to receive an award are: Jimmie Edwards, Dillard University; Distinguished Alumnus: Mark Wilson, Wilberforce University; Distinguished Alumnus: Anzio Williams, Distinguished Alumnus; North Carolina A&T State University: Carmen Cummings, Florida A&M University; Alumni Director of the Year: Dr. Sidney Green, Dillard University; National Alumni President of the Year: Atlanta Chapter, Dillard University; Small Alumni Chapter of the Year: Polk County, Florida A&M University; Large Alumni Chapter of the Year: Daryl Parks, Florida A&M University; Chairman's Award: Mary Pat Hector, Spelman College; Emerging Leader Award.

The mission of the NBCA Hall of Fame Foundation is to serve as a catalyst and partner for ensuring the stability, strength and excellence of the nation’s Historically Black Colleges and Universities. For more details on the events of the 2017 NBCA Hall of Fame Weekend and information on the programs and initiatives of the Foundation, please visit the website at
Section Navigation
Support the next generation of Claflin Leaders
Your support provides educational enrichment through student schloarships, loan funds, instructional classroom equipment, preparing Claflin's students to be leaders of the future.