Claflin Honors Employees for Exceptional Service

Jun 08, 2018

Continuing a 24-year tradition, Claflin University recently honored employees who served with distinction during the 2017-18 academic year at its annual Recognition and Rewards luncheon.
"We celebrate Team Claflin as we honor these award recipients for their outstanding contributions during the past year," President Henry N. Tisdale said. "Our success and emergence as a premier 21st Century institution of higher education is a result of the collective effort of our resourceful, engaged and dedicated administrators, faculty, and staff. I congratulate each of our honorees. We greatly appreciate their service and commitment to excellence."

Rewards and Recognition

Dr. Bridget P. Dewees, assistant vice president for institutional effectiveness,  was selected Administrative Employee of the Year; Ms. Doris Gathers Dantzler, senior payroll accountant, was named Professional Employee of the Year;  Ms. Claudette Hopkins, senior administrative assistant, was the Administrative Support Employee of the Year; and the Customer Service Award winner was Ms. Lottie Robinson, senior administrative assistant. Each winner received a financial gift and a plaque of appreciation.
Other employees who were nominated are as follows: Mrs. Gwendolyn Phillips and Mrs. Marilyn Stacey-Suggs (Administrative Employee of the Year); Mr. Terrence Jenkins, Ms. Nadine McMillan, Ms. Morgan Montgomery, Ms. Shanelle Myke,
Ms. Shirley Nichols (Professional Employee of the Year); April Spraggins-Johnson (Administrative Support Employee of the Year); Mr. Herbert Hallman, Ms. Barbara McKelvey, Mr. Ernest Nimmons (Exemplary Customer Service).
Winners were selected based on standards of achievements that are consistent with Claflin's Guiding Principles: Commitment to Excellence; Commitment to Valuing People; Commitment to Being Student Focused; Commitment to Exemplary Educational Programs; Commitment to Financial Accountability; Campus Involvement; and other relevant factors.
Members of Claflin's world-class faculty were recognized for their excellent instruction in the classroom. Dr. Jason Youngkeit, an assistant professor who teaches Spanish, was this year's recipient of the United Methodist Exemplary Teacher Award. Dr. Marlena P. Washington, an assistant professor of chemistry, was the recipient of the South Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities (SCICU) Excellence in Teaching Award.

Other faculty award winners were Dr. Belinda Wheeler, who received the James E. Hunter Excellence in Teaching Award and Dr. Bijoy Dey, recipient of the William and Annette Johnson Innovative Scientific Research Award. Wheeler is an associate professor of English and has written or edited several publications. 

Dey, an assistant professor of physical chemistry, has been awarded two patents and his research articles have received multiple citations from scientists from around the world.
Wheeler and Dey were presented their awards at Claflin's 148th Commencement Convocation.
Section Navigation
Support the next generation of Claflin Leaders
Your support provides educational enrichment through student scholarships, loan funds, instructional classroom equipment, preparing Claflin's students to be leaders of the future.