Hurricane Ian Update
September 28, 2022 Claflin Family: At approximately 4:10 p.m., South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster declared a state of emergency for South Carolina. As the safety of our students, faculty and staff is a major priority, Claflin University will close and classes will be canceled on Thursday, September 29, 2022, at 12 p.m. Classes for Friday, September 30, 2022, will be held virtually. Students are encouraged to check Moodle for instructions from professors. Students, faculty and staff are encouraged to seek safety away from the predicted affected (coastal) areas. Residential students who live in South Carolina or within a 4-hour radius are strongly encouraged to leave campus. However, residential students who are unable to leave campus must register with the Office of Residential Life no later than Thursday, September 29, at 10 a.m. by clicking here. The Office of Residential Life will be on-call to answer questions in case of emergencies at (803) 258-8981. The University Dining Center will operate on the following schedule: Thursday: Normal operations. No late night dining. Friday: Brunch (9 a.m. until 1 p.m.); Dinner (5 to 7 p.m.) Saturday & Sunday: Brunch (10 a.m. until 1 p.m.); Dinner (5 to 7 p.m.) * Meals will be take-out on Friday through Sunday. Pizza Hut and Starbucks will be closed. If conditions become worse (power outages, flooding, downed trees, etc.), the University will implement its emergency protocol and provide shelter and meals in the Jonas T. Kennedy Health and Wellness Complex (located on the campus of Claflin University). You are encouraged to visit the University’s website, where updates will be posted regarding University operations. Updates also will be posted through Panther Alerts (text messages), Panther X, and email. For general information and updates, please call the University’s Information Line at (803) 535-5243. In case of on-campus emergencies, please call Claflin University Public Safety at (803) 535-5444. You may also check the National Weather Service for up-to-date alerts at

2020 Cohort of Outstanding Leaders Under 40

Akua K. Fordjour
Angel Oliver
Ashley N. Elliott
Aubrey A. Jackson
Barry White Jr.
Branden Miles Lewis
Brandon LaPriest McIntosh
Brittany Carter McKinnon
Casey Carea Sharperson
Charlene W. Harvin
Chrishele Irene Kingdom Marshall
Devin L. Randolph
Dorothy a Patrice Nero
Elizabeth M. Grate Hutnphrey
Eric M. Geddis
Harriet Huell Lampkin
Hayward Rene I Jean
India Hill Brown
Jasmine Denisha Frink
Jason Randolph Streeter
Jessica Amber Myles
Keronica Charish Richardson
Keywon DaMaal Harvey
Kristen Edwards Bell
LaTisha Louise Evans McClam
Lisa Carol-Ann Barrow-Laing
Marcus Timothy Fogle
Matisse Lee
Megan Rivers
Montez Labronze Hilliard
Neema Hooker
Prestine Manderville
Sheena Renee Hargrove
Sierra Chevon Hughes
Sierra Siohan Williams
Simone Trixie Allison Phipps-Prieto
Steven Dial
Tamuka Martin Chidyausiku
Terry M. Powers Jr.
Tsitsi Mercy Chikowore
Section Navigation

If you have any questions concerning the "Outstanding Leaders Under 40" program, please click here.

Support the next generation of Claflin Leaders
Your support provides educational enrichment through student scholarships, loan funds, instructional classroom equipment, preparing Claflin's students to be leaders of the future.