Claflin to Induct 10 Outstanding Individuals, Women’s Basketball Team Into Hall of Fame

Feb 05, 2014

Alex English, Former NBA Player, HeadshotClaflin University will honor 10 outstanding individuals and members of the record-setting 1987-1988 women’s basketball team with induction to its Athletics Hall of Fame on Friday, February 7, at 7 p.m. in the Jonas T. Kennedy Health and Physical Education Center.

“We take this opportunity to both acknowledge and appreciate the rich athletic history of Claflin University and recognize many of those who have helped sustain  a tradition of excellence with outstanding leadership and performance,” said Athletic Director Dr. Jerome Fitch.

Tickets are $75 and are available by contacting Priscilla Cramer by phone at (803)535-5504 or by e-mail at Tickets will also be available at the door.

Former NBA Star Alex English will be the keynote speaker for the event.  During an All-America career at the University of South Carolina and with the NBA's Denver Nuggets, Alex English established himself as one of basketball's most respected, well-rounded, and dominating players. An offensive force with unmatched shooting and driving skills, English was the NBA's leading scorer throughout the 1980s (19,682 points). Smooth, efficient, and graceful, he is the first player in NBA history to score 2,000 points in eight straight seasons. He set 31 Denver all-time records in a ten-year stretch. Playing for Hall of Fame coach Frank McGuire at South Carolina, English ranks first in scoring and third in rebounding. Upon graduation, English was the only player in school history to start every game, score 1,000 points, and grab 1,000 rebounds.

“We are excited to have Mr. English – an NBA Hall of Famer in his own right – join us for this very special occasion,” Fitch said. “Claflin athletics continues to excel, and we will take this moment to thank those who paved the way.”

Members of the 2014 Claflin University Athletic Hall of Fame class are:

Herbert W. Beard, ’87, men’s basketball; the late Sonya Smith Burgess, ‘95, contributor to athletics; Willie Coleman, ’66, football; Marvelyn G. Holmes-Greene, ’91, softball; Earl Donalson, ’64, men’s basketball; Robert E. Grant, ’58, contributor to athletics; Kenneth L. Hutchinson, ’75, men’s basketball; Ronald Peters, ’68, men’s basketball; the late James C. Tillerson,  ’62, contributor to athletics; Albert J. White, Sr., ’75, men’s basketball; the 1987-1988 Women’s Basketball Team.

Section Navigation
Support the next generation of Claflin Leaders
Your support provides educational enrichment through student schloarships, loan funds, instructional classroom equipment, preparing Claflin's students to be leaders of the future.